Photo: IOC Media
PyeongChang (RWH) Emma Terho from Finland (ice hockey) and Kikkan Randall from USA (cross-country skiing) have been elected to the International Olympic Committee (IOC)’s Athletes’ Commission by their fellow Olympians at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018. With a record participation rate of 83.86 per cent, athletes at the Olympic Winter Games made their way to the voting booths in the Athlete365 Space in both the PyeongChang and Gangneung Olympic Villages to cast their votes. Terho was elected with 1,045 votes, followed by Randall with 831 votes. The announcement was made today at the Olympic Village by IOC Executive Board Member and Chair of the Election Committee Nicole Hoevertsz, Swedish IOC Athletes’ Commission member Stefan Holm and IOC Sports Director Kit McConnell.

Terho represented Finland at five Olympic Winter Games, winning bronze at Nagano 1998 and Vancouver 2010. Randall is currently competing in her fifth Winter Games in PyeongChang. Earlier this week, she won the USA's first-ever Olympic gold medal in cross-country skiing, after topping the podium in the team sprint event alongside Jessica Diggins.

Spain’s Skeleton athlete Ander Mirambell achieved 664 votes and finished on 6th place. ©RWH2018

Photo: IOC Media

Related Tags

Related News