Delegates of 41 National Federations expected in Rome

Rome (RWH) The Italian capital Rome is for the first time the venue of the congress of the International Bobsleigh & Skeleton Federation IBSF. On June 27, the annual meeting of the Olympic Winter Sports Federation will bring together around 150 participants, including delegates from 41 national federations, race organizers, track representatives and IBSF personnel, as well as other guests.

The regular elections of the Executive Committee are the main topic of this year’s congress. Ivo Ferriani from Italy, IBSF President since 2010 and member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) since 2016, opts for re-election for his third term (2018-2022). His opponents at the Congress in Rome are Swiss Fritz Burkard, member of the IBSF Para Sport Committee and vice-president of the St. Moritz Bobsleigh Club, and Canadian Sarah Storey, who is President of the National Federation Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton since 2014.

The entitled IBSF national delegates will also elect the vice-presidents for the next four years. 14 candidates from 13 nations compete for the six resorts. Additionally, new auditors will be elected for a two years term as well as the members of the Appeals Tribunal for the next four years.

In the run-up to the IBSF Congress 2018 in Rome, President Ivo Ferriani, Secretary General Heike Größwang and the current Vice-Presidents will meet on Monday (25 June) for the last Executive Committee meeting of the current term. On Tuesday (June 26), the pre-congress is scheduled with the annual reports of the various resorts. Infront Sports & Media AG, media and marketing partner of the IBSF, presents the results of the past Olympic season. Then the organizers of the upcoming Bobsleigh and Skeleton World Championships - Whistler (CAN) 2019, Altenberg (GER) 2020 and Lake Placid (USA) 2021 - as well as the Olympic Winter Games 2022 in Beijing (CHN) report on the status of the preparations.

The 2018 IBSF Congress with the election of the members of the Executive Committee will be opened by President Ivo Ferriani at 9:00 am on Wednesday (27 June) © RWH2018

>> Press release 2 May 2018: " Candidates for elections to IBSF Executive Committee named" <<

Related Tags

Related News