Photo: IBSF / Viesturs Lacis
Rome (RWH) Ivo Ferriani has been confirmed in office as President of the International Bobsleigh & Skeleton Federation (IBSF). At the Congress in Rome (ITA), the IBSF delegates of the national federations elected the Italian with 38 of 43 votes in his third term.

One opponent opposed Ivo Ferriani at the 2018 Congress. Swiss Fritz Burkard, member of the Para-Sport-Committee of the IBSF and Vice-President of the St. Moritz Bobsleigh Club, got five votes.

"I feel very honoured and just want to say thank you to all delegates that you give me the chance to serve you for another four years", said President Ivo Ferriani after the election. "Thank you also to the leaving members of the Executive Board for their work and dedication to our sport. A warm welcome to the newly elected Vice Presidents – I look forward to work with you and I am excited to see what we can achieve.

Now it’s time to go to work, continue projects, pursuing new ideas and meet the challenges that lay ahead us to make our sport even better.

Do not hesitate to raise your hand and tell us your needs as this federation is your federation. I look forward to slide into the future with you!"

The IBSF Vice Presidents for 2018-2022

Vice President Financial & Corporate Affairs

-          Andreas Trautvetter, GER, approved as only candidate (2014-2018: Andreas Trautvetter, GER)

Vice President Sport

-          Darrin Steele, USA, approved as only candidate (2014-2018: Darrin Steele, USA)

Vice President Marketing & Events

-          David Tomatis, MON, approved as only candidate (2014-2018: David Tomatis, MON)

Vice President International Affairs

o   Stefaan Freeling, BEL, elected with 28 votes

o   Sarah Storey, CAN (11)

o   German Glessner, ARG (4)

-          >> 2014-2018: Adam Pengilly, GBR

Vice President Communication

o   Przemyslaw Piesiewicz, POL, elected with 38 votes

o   Peter Van Wees, NED (5)

-          >> 2014-2018: Georgy Bedzhamov, RUS

Vice President Legal Affairs

o   Martins Dambergs, LAT, elected with 22 votes

o   Ben Sandford, NZL (18)

o   Void (1)

(one Federation with two vo
tes had left – so total number of votes here was 41)

>> 2014-2018: Ben Sandford, NZL

Additionally, the Auditors were elected for a two year term:

Anders Huuse (NOR)

Luis Vazquez (PUR)

Gertjan Kempers (NED).

The IBSF Appeals Tribunal was anonimously approved as followed:

Ben Heijmeier (NED)

Stephen A.Hess (USA)

Sander Kevelaerts (BEL)

Stephen Rowland-Jones (GBR)


Photo: IBSF / Viesturs Lacis

Related Tags

Related News