Athletes invited to elections in December

Großgmain (RWH) Six candidates from six nations apply for the vacant four IBSF Athletes' Advisory Committee positions. By decision of the the International Bobsleigh & Skeleton Federation Executive Committee, all athletes are invited to vote during all race series in the period from 5 to 18 December 2019. At the respective Team Captains meetings before the first training, the election official will announce on which days the election will take place.

For Women’s Bobsleigh, Elana Meyers-Taylor from USA is applying. The Bobsleigh pilot was 2015 and 2017 World Champion and won three Olympic medals, most recently silver 2018 in PyeongChang. Until the end of 2019, the 35-years-old, who takes the current season off due to her pregnancy, is serving a one-year term as President of the Women’s Sports Foundation.

Candidate for Men’s Bobsleigh is push athlete Ladislav Noskovič (SVK).

For the representation of the Men’s Skeleton athletes there are two candidates: Italian Mattia Gaspari, 2016 Junior World Championships bronze medallist, and Marcus Wyatt from Great Britain, who finished fifth at the 2019 European Championships.

2019 European Champion Christopher Stewart from Switzerland as well as World Championships bronze medallist and 2018 European Champion Alvils Brants from Latvia are applying for Para Sports.

In January 2019, the IBSF athletes chose Christina Hengster, former bobsleigh pilot from Austria, as the new chairwoman of the Athletes' Committee (AC). Katie Tannenbaum, Skeleton athlete from the US Virgin Islands, represents Women’s Skeleton. ©RWH2019

Related Tags

Related News