From Anthony Nash to Jean Wicky: Inauguration of the Hall of Fame, Photo: RWH

St. Moritz (RWH) Honor to whom honor is due: Nearly a dozen personalities were inducted at the inauguration of the Hall of Fame in St. Moritz. From Anthony Nash to Jean Wicky is the list of legends who were granted induction into the Hall of Fame during a small ceremony at the Dracula Club in St. Moritz, Switzerland.

The Hall of Fame is being built jointly by the International Bobsleigh & Skeleton Federation (IBSF) and Olympia Bob Run Historic (OBR). In this Hall of Fame national and international personalities who have rendered outstanding services to the sport of bobsleigh and skeleton will find a place.

The first legends to be included are the members of the Olympic gold medal foursome from Sapporo in 1972 with Jean Wicky, Hans Leutenegger, Werner Camichel and Edi Hubacher, as well as the most successful Swiss bobsledder, Erich Schärer. Other recipients of the honorary membership were Anthony Nash and Robin Dixon of Great Britain, 1964 Olympic 2-man bobsleigh champions, who compete for the St. Moritz Bobsleigh Club (SMBC), Reto Capadrutt (1935 World Champion), long-time SMBC President Hubert de Martineau, and Gunter Sachs, 1959 European Junior 2-man Bobsleigh Champion and also a long-time SMBC President. His son Rolf, who today heads the Dracula Club, accepted the award from the hand of IBSF President Ivo Ferriani.

At the suggestion of the IBSF, Raimund Bethge, former head of the German national Bobsleigh and Skeleton team, was accepted on the basis of his exemplary coaching style.

Every year, more athletes, constructors and officials from the ice sports scene are added to the list.

Related Tags

Related News