Photo: Charlie Booker

Lake Placid (RWH) World Champion Elena Meyers Taylor and 2010 Olympic four-man champion Steven Holcomb lead the US bobsleigh athletes in the 2015-2016 season of BMW IBSF World Cup. Following the selection races, the federation USABS (United States Bobsled & Skeleton) named 23 athletes to the USA Bobsled National Team roster.

In women's bobsled, two-time Olympic medalist Elana Meyers Taylor earned her position as a pilot on the team after a dominant 2014-2015 season with the 2015 World Championships and Overall World Cup title. Olympic bronze medalist Jamie Greubel Poser swept the women's selection races in Lake Placid to solidify her spot. World Cup rookie Nicole Vogt earned her position as the third ranked women's pilot after a competitive series of trials races. The pool of women's bobsled push athletes includes Meyers Taylor's World Championship teammate Cherrelle Garrett and multi World Cup medalist Lauren Gibbs as well as three rookies: Terra Evans, Kristen Hurley and Kehri Jones.

In men's bobsleigh, three-time Olympic medalist Steven Holcomb, two-time Olympian Nick Cunningham and Codie Bascue earned their positions as pilots of the three USA men's sleds. Push athletes are Adrian Adams, James Reed, Carlo Valdes, Casey Wickline, Sam Michener, Nic Taylor, Hakeem Adbul-Saboor, Frank Del Duca, Austin Landis, Sam McGuffie and Evan Weinstock.

World Cup racing kicks off in Altenberg (GER), November 27-29.

Related Tags

Related News