Photo: IBSF TV
Alexander Kasjanov second, Justin Kripps makes first appearance on podium in third

Lake Placid (RWH) World Champion Maximilian Arndt of Germany has won his first victory of the season in the BMW IBSF World Cup in Lake Placid (USA) and taken the lead in the overall standings after the first half of the racing series.
Following a third place in the opening race in Altenberg and second in Winterberg and Königssee (all GER), the 2013 and 2015 World Champion in the four-man bobsleigh and his crew of Martin Putze, Ben Heber and Kevin Korona won with a 0.28 second lead on Russia’s Alexander Kasjanov with Alexei Pushkarev, Ilvir Huzin and Aleksey Zaytsev, who came overall second in last year’s World Cup tour. Justin Kripps of Canada, pushed by Alexander Kopacz, Derek Plug and Ben Coakwell, came in third 0.37 seconds back to make his first World Cup podium appearance in the four-man bobsleigh.
Lamin Deen of Great Britain, who came fifth in the 2015 World Championships, celebrated his best World Cup result to date in Lake Placid. Pushed by John Baines, Joel Fearon and Andrew Matthews, Deen was fourth, missing his first podium by just 0.04 seconds.
The two US quartets piloted by Steven Holcomb, 2010 Olympic Champion and 2009 and 2012 World Champion, and Nick Cunningham finished in the top ten for the first time this winter at eighth and ninth respectively.
After the fourth of eight races in the BMW IBSF World Cup 2015/2016, Maximilian Arndt has gone into the lead in the overall standings with 845 points, overtaking fellow German Francesco Friedrich, who was sixth in Lake Placid and is now overall second with 818 points. Switzerland’s Rico Peter is overall third with 768 points after a fifth in Lake Placid.
Complete results lists showing all race times, overall times and the latest World Cup standings can be found at, via Twitter (@IBSFsliding), on the official IBSF page, and on the IBSF Facebook group. ©RWH2015-2016

Related Tags

Related News