Photo Credit: Göran Strand, Sweden
Kaillie Humphries 0,01 seconds back on rank two, Jamie Greubel Poser finishes third

St. Moritz (RWH): Bobsleigh pilot Elana Meyers Taylor of the USA has won the fifth race of the 2016/2017 BMW IBSF World Cup season by the smallest possible margin of just one hundredth of a second. After breaking the season track record (1:07,73 minutes) on her second run, the 2015 World Champion and her brakewoman Briauna Jones pushed the reigning Olympic Champion Kaillie Humphries and her brakewoman Melissa Lotholz (CAN, 0.01 seconds behind) into second place. The Olympic bronze medallist Jamie Greubel Poser and brakewoman Lauren Gibbs (USA, 0.15 seconds behind) took third place at the race on the natural ice track, the Olympia Bobrun St. Moritz-Celerina.

After finishing in seventh place with her brakewoman Annika Drazek, Christin Senkel (GER) celebrated her best World Cup result as a pilot. In her position as a brakewoman, Christin Senkel achieved many a World Cup podium finish with various pilots from the German squad.

Making her World Cup comeback after six years, Sabina Hafner of Switzerland and her brakewoman Eveline Rebsamen finished in thirteenth.

With a total of 1044 points, defending World Cup winner Kaillie Humphries has slightly extended her lead in the overall standings for the 2016/2017 BMW IBSF World Cup and is now 35 points ahead of second-place Jamie Greubel Poser (USA, 1009). Christina Hengster (AUT, 946), who came fifth in St. Moritz, is third overall following the fifth of eight races this season. ©RWH2016-2017

Photo Credit: Göran Strand, Sweden

Related Tags

Related News