Elana Meyers Taylor finishes second in PyeongChang, Alysia Rissling wins first World Cup medal

PyeongChang (RWH): After more than three months and a total of eight races, the decision over who would win the 2016/2017 overall women’s bobsleigh BMW IBSF World Cup came down to the last hundredth of a second in the final race: In the final race of the winter, Jamie Greubel Poser (USA) seized her chance in her head-to-head battle for the overall World Cup against Olympic Champion Kaillie Humphries (CAN).

At the BMW IBSF World Cup in PyeongChang (KOR), the US pilot overtook her team mate Elana Meyers Taylor in her second run to celebrate her second win of the season at the track created for the 2018 Winter Olympics. With her win, Jamie Greubel Poser also managed to catch up the athlete who had led the standings for the previous seven races; after finishing fifth in PyeongChang, Kaillie Humphries fell 14 points short of the overall win on the home straight.

Jamie Greubel Poser/Aja Evans and Elana Meyers Taylor/Lolo Jones (0.15 seconds back) in first and second place were followed by Alysia Rissling/Cynthia Appiah (0.41 seconds back) of Canada, who finished third to secure their first ever World Cup podium finish. The first start and track record at the new Olympic icetrack went to Elana Meyers Taylor/Lolo Jones (5,25 seconds/51,71 seconds)

The overall winner of the 2016/2017 BMW IBSF World Cup is Jamie Greubel Poser (USA, 1644 points), who finishes ahead of second-place Kaillie Humphries (CAN, 1630), the overall winner in 2013, 2014 and 2016. Third place goes to Elana Meyers Taylor (USA, 1530), who was initially left without any points following a crash at the opening World Cup race in Whistler before then going on to secure four wins and three second-place finishes. ©RWH2017

Related Tags

Related News