Photo: Viesturs Lacis
Lake Placid (RWH) With nine women and 15 men the US bobsleigh team heads into the Olympic season in BMW IBSF World Cup. That was announced by the federation USA Bobsled & Skeleton following the last qualification races in Lake Placid.
Women’s bobsleigh pilots are World Champion Elana Meyers Taylor, World Cup Champion Jamie Greubel Poser and Brittany Reinbolt. The six push athletes named to the team include Maureen Ajoku, Olympic and World Championship bronze medalist Aja Evans, 2016 World Championship bronze medalist Lauren Gibbs, Briauna Jones, World Champion Kehri Jones and Olympic 100-meter hurdler turned Olympic bobsledder Lolo Jones.
The three pilots in 2-man and 4-man bobsleigh are Codie Bascue, Nick Cunningham and Justin Olsen. Returning Olympians named to the push athletes team include Olympic bronze medalist Chris Fogt and two-time Olympic bronze medalist and 2012 World Champion Steve Langton. 2014 in Sochi, Fogt and Langton won Olympic bronze in the 4-man event with pilot Steven Holcomb, who unexpectedly passed away in May. The roster also includes Hakeem Abdul-Saboor, Christopher Kinney, Sam McGuffie, Sam Michener, Jimmy Reed, Nic Taylor, Carlo Valdes and Evan Weinstock.
Earning their first national team berths are 2012 U.S. Summer Olympian turned bobsledder Ryan Bailey and Nathan Weber.
The BMW IBSF World Cup 2017/2018 kicks-off on the US teams home ice in Lake Placid on November 9/10. ©RWH2017

Photo: Viesturs Lacis

Related Tags

Related News