Photos: Sebastian Machata
Record number of 18 pilots from ten nations

Königssee (RWH) Canadian Christine de Bruin is the winner of the IBSF Women’s Monobob race at the Königssee icetrack (GER). A record number of 18 female athletes of ten nations took part at the two-heat race that concluded a training week with coaches and sleds provided by the International Bobsleigh and Skeleton Federation IBSF. For Christine de Bruin, who finished seventh at the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games in the 2-woman Bobsleigh, it was her very first race in the coming Olympic discipline Women’s Monobob.

Second place went to Breeana Walker. The Australian made sports history in November as winner of the first ever Women’s Monobob races in Lillehammer (NOR).

Russian Monobob pilot Anastasia Makarova finished third in Königssee.

The next IBSF Women’s Monobob training and race event is scheduled for January 3-10, 2019, in Calgary (CAN).

In July 2018, the International Olympic Committee IOC decided to include Women's Monobob in the Olympic program. The Monobob women will make their first Olympic appearance at the 2022 Winter Games in Beijing (CHN). ©RWH2018

>> Results

Monobob Königssee 1000 600
Photos: Sebastian Machata

Related Tags

Related News