Photo: IBSF / Viesturs Lacis

 40th Annual Salute of Women's Sports Foundation on 16 October

New York (RWH) Mariama Jamanka and Annika Drazek (GER), 2019 World Champions in 2-Woman Bobsleigh, are among the ten nominees for the Sportswoman of the Year Award in the Team category. This year, the Women's Sports Foundation in New York honors the best female athletes of the year for the 40th time. Prizes will be awarded on 16 October in New York City.

>> Further information, tickets etc.

Information on all nominees as well as the public vote for the two Sportswoman of the Year Awards (Individual and Team, open until 2 August, 11:59 p.m. EST) are available at

"We are very happy about this nomination. I think we were both totally surprised", said Mariama Jamanka in a press release of the German Federation BSD (Bob- und Schlittenverband für Deutschland). " As a German athlete I never expected to be nominated for this award with so many cool teams. This is of course a huge honor. We are so excited and just hope we have a small chance and we all ask you to vote for us, so that we may really come to New York to meet all the people and teams in person."

Annika Drazek heard about the nomination while being in Japan: "I am absolutely surprised and even more pleased that we have been nominated for the award, it’s amazing! We also represent our country and that makes us both, Mariama and me, all the more proud to be among the top 10 nominees.“

Mariama Jamanka won her first World Championship gold with Annika Drazek at the BMW IBSF World Championships 2019 in Whistler (CAN). Previously, the duo also won the European Championships title in Königssee (GER). As Olympic Champion (2018 in PyeongChang) and Overall World Cup winner in 2019, Mariama Jamanka currently holds all the major titles in 2-Woman Bobsleigh.

The current President of the Women's Sports Foundation is US Bobsleigh pilot Elana Meyers Taylor, World Champion in 2015 and 2017 and Olympic silver medallist in 2014 and 2018. The 34-year-old started her one-year-term on 1 January 2019. ©RWH2019

>> Women’s Sports Foundation

Related Tags

Related News