US bobsleigh athlete at start/push position

Lake Placid (RWH)  Elana Meyers Taylor and Frank Del Duca at the pilot’s competition as well as Sylvia Hoffman and Charlie Volker in the push athletes class took the titles at the 2021 US National Bobsled Push Championships. The competition at the newly opened Ice Start House in Lake Placid was part of the qualifications for the 2021-2022 US National Team.

Three-time Olympic medalist Elana Meyers Taylor won the women's pilot event with the best combined time (pilot position and monobob position) ahead of Lauren Brzozowski and Brittany Reinbolt. World Champion and two-time Olympic Champion Kaillie Humphries suffered an injury during her second push and had to skip the remaining monobob runs. 

Push athlete Sylvia Hoffman was crowned the 2021 U.S. champion with Aja Evans, who won Olympic bronze with Jamie Greubel Poser in 2014, finishing second. 2018 Olympic silver medalist Lauren Gibbs and Lake Kwaza tied for third.

Frank Del Duca won the bobsled pilots' competition. Derek White finished second, with Olympian Codie Bascue in third.

Charlie Volker won the men's push athletes competition ahead of Josh Williamson and Kris Horn.

>> USABS website

Photo: IBSF/Viesturs Lacis

Related Tags

Related News