Photos: IBSF / Viesturs LacisElana Meyers Taylor in Winterberg with fourth monobob victory and overall lead,

Australian Breeana Walker finishes second ahead of Laura Nolte

Winterberg (RWH) Elana Meyers Taylor from the USA is the winner of the seventh and penultimate race of the Women's Monobob World Series. Five weeks before the Olympic premiere of the discipline, the bobsleigh pilot took her fourth victory of the season in the series at the BMW IBSF World Cup in Winterberg (GER).

Second place in Winterberg went to Breeana Walker (AUS, 0.17 seconds back). In the Olympic winter, the Australian was on the podium in six of her seven monobob starts. In the second race in Winterberg, Breeana Walker set the best time.

World Championship bronze medallist Laura Nolte (GER) finished third on her home track, 0.25 seconds behind winner Elana Meyers Taylor.

World Champion Kaillie Humphries (USA) finished fourth in Winterberg.

Elana Meyers Taylor (USA. 1076 points) took the lead in the overall standings of the women's monobob World Series. Behind her, four athletes are only four points apart in second to fifth place: Breeana Walker (AUS, 1006), Kaillie Humphries (USA, 1003) as well as Christine de Bruin (CAN) and Laura Nolte (GER) with 1002 points each.

At the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing, the women's monobob discipline will be an Olympic event for the first time. The world series will be held in all IBSF racing events in the winter of 2021/2022.

For more detailed information including athlete profiles and results please visit Photos for editorial use can be found at Flickr. ©RWH2022

Photos: IBSF / Viesturs Lacis
BMW IBSF WCup 21 22 WBG 2 WMono MeyersTaylor startBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 WBG 2 WMono MeyersTaylor win webBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 WBG 2 WMono Meyers TaylorBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 WBG 2 WMono NolteBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 WBG 2 WMono podium webBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 WBG 2 WMono Walker

Related Tags

Related News