Mariama Jamanka first Monobob European Champion, overall win for Meyers Taylor, Photos: IBSF / Viesturs Lacis

World Champion Kaillie Humphries wins finale of Women's Monobob World Series

St. Moritz (RWH) With Mariama Jamanka as the first European Champion in women's monobob and US pilot Elana Meyers Taylor as the overall winner, the 2021/2022 Women's Monobob World Series came to an end at the BMW IBSF World Cup in St. Moritz (SUI).

Four weeks before the Olympic premiere of the discipline, the victory in the last race of the World Series went to World Champion Kaillie Humphries from the USA ahead of team mate Elana Meyers Taylor (USA, 0.04 seconds behind). In the second race, Meyers Taylor had set the season's track record at the Olympia Bobrun St. Moritz-Celerina (1:10.88 minutes). Third place in the race went to Canada's Cynthia Appiah (0.95 seconds back).

As the best-placed athlete from Europe, Mariama Jamanka secured the first European title in the women's monobob in fourth place. For the Europeans, the race was also counted as a continental championship. 0.01 seconds behind her, team-mate Laura Nolte (GER) took silver. The bronze medal went to Nadezhda Sergeeva from Russia.

Fourth place in the world series is also Mariama Jamanka's best result in the discipline as part of the BMW IBSF World Cup. The 31-year-old won the Olympic test at the Yanqing Sliding Centre in October.

The overall victory in the Women's Monobob World Series went to Elana Meyers Taylor (USA, 1110 points) in St. Moritz - almost exactly one year to the day after her monobob debut. The US pilot competed in her first race in the discipline, which will celebrate its Olympic premiere at the Winter Games in Beijing in four weeks' time, on 16 January 2021, also at the Olympic Bobrun St. Moritz-Celerina. At the BMW IBSF World Cup final on 15 January 2022, the 36-year-old celebrated her fifth victory of the season and secured first place in the overall standings. Overall second place went to World Champion Kaillie Humphries (USA, 1052 points) ahead of Cynthia Appiah (CAN, 1012).

For more detailed information including athlete profiles and results please visit Photos for editorial use can be found at Flickr. ©RWH2022

Photos: IBSF / Viesturs Lacis
BMW IBSF WCup 21 22 STM MSkel MDukurs startBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 STM MSkel MDukurs winBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 STM MSkel MDukurs win 2 webBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 STM MSkel podium ECh webBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 STM MSkel podium overallBMW IBSF WCup 21 22 STM MSkel podium race

Related Tags

Related News